Thoughts on Jesse Williams

Maybe this makes me less woke than most but I wasn’t impressed by the Jesse Williams speech. It didn’t move me, I wasn’t inspired and ultimately, I didn’t think too much of it.

Why? Well that’s twofold:

0: A speech like that, while provocative, was done in the “safest” possible way possible. It’s the *BET* awards, not the Emmy’s. Racial commentary is almost a requirement whenever we gather for any reason in a post Black Lives Matters world.

1: The content itself wasn’t fresh to me at all. In fact, I believe I could tag no less than 20 people on my Facebook feed and produce a speech that is similar in message or even more radical. It was measured, it was almost paint by the numbers “woke” commentary.

The speech wasn’t that interesting but the responses where. White (and black) conservative commentators responded to an apparent attack with vapid retorts. Black commentators responding about how much they love it, while others bringing up colorism and its impact on the situation. This was not just limited to Facebook comments and memes either. It was a real Willie Lynch death spiral, predictable and depressing. Other commentators calling for “unity” and that we should accept “the message” from any source.
Race is political and skin tone matters in this context.

What about that message? What *exactly* is the point? Has Black Intelligensia really changed since the 60s or 70s? Where are the market oriented solutions? Even when talking about the market, race lathers, always in the foreground.

I wish Jesse had said, look, go move your money to this bank or buy X product from this seller because they support the community. That, would have been evolutionary to me, but it also may have pissed off the advertisers.

Stacey Dash called Jesse Williams a “Hollywood Plantation slave.” She wasn’t entirely wrong in one sense. Of course, since she is a right wing Conservative plantation slave, she has no room to talk. The free are those who absolutely control their own destiny or have relinquished the need to control said destiny. I doubt either of them meet either requirement.

The next time a famous black person gets a platform and wants to talk about revolution, I want to hear about some stock tips or investment advise at scale. Give me some information to reduce my debt. Tell me how I can be healthier or how I can reduce stress in my life. Tell me how to start a sustainable business or double my income. I need help with my real problems, I don’t need a rallying cry to fight for progressive values.
At some point, the (r)evolution must be commodified and turned into a usable product. I look forward to that day.

Leave a comment